no rome // Seventeen

Seventeen.jpg

Filipino artist Rome Gomez AKA no rome has been around for several years now, but he’s just recently cropped up on my radar since his recent signing to one of my favorite indie labels, Dirty Hit (The Japanese House, Pale Waves, The 1975). Based on his label mates, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it certainly wasn’t the gorgeous, smooth R&B of his second official track, Seventeen. The song is a update of a 2017 track that ticks all the boxes for me. It shows off no rome’s vocals effortlessly, has forward-thinking production and beats, and tops it off with a chord progression that draws you in instantly. It’s a track soggy with nostalgia that harkens back to the simpler days of youth. With just this track, no rome jumps up my list of new artists to be keeping an eye on. With two extremely solid efforts under his belt (his first release with Dirty Hit, “Do It Again”, is another winner), I can’t wait to see what no rome has up his sleeve, and it looks like we won’t have to wait long with a debut EP on the way soon. In the meantime, check out “Seventeen” and “Do It Again” below or click HERE to see the video.

Leave a comment