Mura Masa // Second 2 None (feat. Christine and the Queens)

Second 2 None.jpg

Since starting Symbiosis Music at the end of last year, I’ve been quite pleased with the choices in artists to follow I’ve made and in particular with the artists I selected for my Artists to Watch 2017 list. Of course, my selections have little to no actual significance, but in my head they were big decisions. However, there are a few artists that were so close to being on the list that I definitely wish would have made it. Out of those minor regrets, Mura Masa tops the list. I’ve been a big fan of his music since I first heard it several years ago, but his output has been even more impressive this year than it was in the past. With his highly anticipated self titled debut album set to be released next week, he has shared two new tracks featuring Damon Albarn and Christine and the Queens respectively. The latter, Second 2 None, has quickly become one of my favorite songs of the year. When the collaboration between the British producer and French singer was announced, I really wasn’t sure what to expect thinking how their sounds would merge, but the product is something truly special. Mura Masa does a great job here of maintaining his signature vibe (steel drums and eclectic instrumentation) while still bringing out the best of his featured artist. While the track is more subdued than I anticipated, it really is incredible. Interestingly, I think it pairs extremely well with the more upbeat, 1 Night, a collaboration with Charli XCX also featured on the album. Do yourself a favor and listen to Second 2 None below, or click HERE if you don’t have Spotify, and be on the lookout for Mura Masa’s self titled debut album out July 14th!

Leave a Reply

