Nilüfer Yanya // Sliding Doors

Sliding Doors

The first time I heard Small Crimes, the debut track by Nilüfer Yanya, I thought it was such a strong debut and interesting track, but I wasn’t sure what kind of audience she would find or if it was a sustainable sound. Well now Nilüfer has just released her first EP, Plant Feed, and I am more in love with her music than ever. And clearly I’m not the only one; she has recently been featured both on Pitchfork as well as in The Guardian. I’m sure she’s only going to continue to get more popular in the coming months and I wouldn’t be surprised to see her topping lists of Artists to Watch for 2018. In the past few months she has shared The Florist and Golden Cage, both of which were covered here, and now I’m sharing the final and perhaps my favorite track, Sliding Doors. She has an incredible way of making songs sound complete while still remaining raw and vulnerable. Sliding Doors primarily has Nilüfer’s exposed vocals backed by electric guitar before adding in some background vocals and a minimal beat. Overall it makes for something truly special and I can’t wait to continue watching her rise! Check out Sliding Doors below and the rest of the EP HERE and HERE.

Leave a Reply

