Late to the Party: MUNA // I Know A Place

i-know-a-place

So I’ve decided to start doing a new type of recurring post called Late to the Party primarily because of the song I’m featuring today. As much as I wish it weren’t the case, being only one person, there’s so much music coming out that I miss. Thankfully, some of it eventually makes it into my headphones months or years later. While the primary focus of my blog is new music, some of the stuff I hear late I just can’t pass up and feel a need to share. Hopefully you enjoy the songs I deem worthy of bringing back as much as I do.

I honestly can’t believe I went as long as I did without hearing about MUNA. They make incredible 80s-tinged electropop that is right up my alley and seem like the kind of band I would have been following from the beginning. Their sound is reminiscent of one of my favorite bands, HAIM, but with more electronic instrumentation, which makes it even more surprising they haven’t been on my radar. What matters now though, is that I’ve found them and get to enjoy their music. MUNA released a series of singles throughout 2016 leading up to their debut album, About U, released at the beginning of this month. While I didn’t hear it when it came out in December, one of those singles, I Know A Place, has rapidly become one of my favorite discoveries of 2017.  There’s little I can say about the track that hasn’t already been said, except that to me this is pop perfection. From the catchy melodies and harmonies, to the upbeat synths and drums, everything has its place and makes for a wonderful song. Do yourself a favor and check it out below!

 

Leave a Reply

