Artists to Watch 2017 #18: Saya

saya

Canadian songstress Saya is probably the least established artist on my list this year, but that means very little when you hear how great her music is. She popped onto the scene earlier this year with her debut single Wet Dreams (I know, I know, but give it a chance, it’s wonderful). She has since followed up with Cherry Bomb and my personal favorite, No Pressure. Saya does a great job of melding a classic, retro aesthetic with modern production and melodies to make some of the most fun music I heard last year. On top of that she released one of my favorite videos of 2016 due to the bizarre morbid twist it takes partway through. Although usually I wouldn’t include an artist with only three songs to their name, I’m so excited about Saya I couldn’t help myself. I can’t wait to see how she continues to develop her sound and aesthetic in 2017 and I’m expecting big things from her. Check out my favorites by her below!

Start with: No Pressure, Wet Dreams

Leave a Reply

